Central America | One Earth

Central America

Central America is the upper section of one of the Neotropical realm with 2 major subrealms – Central America and the Caribbean -- containing 6 bioregions in total as defined in the Bioregions 2020 framework. In Central America there are four main bioregions running the length of the tapering isthmus that separates the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea. The southernmost of these bioregions, associated with the Isthmus of Panama, extends into Colombia to include its adjoining coastal forests. A small group of subtropical islands below the Baja Peninsula form their own unique bioregion just to the west of Mexico. The Caribbean Islands subrealm consists of one large bioregion, which includes the flooded grasslands and mangroves of southern Florida.