Australasia | One Earth


The Australasia realm is dominated by the Australian continent and 2 additional subrealms -- New Zealand and  the Australasian Islands -- with 15 bioregions in total as defined in the Bioregions 2020 framework. Australia itself has nine bioregions, the largest of which contains its vast interior deserts. The south of Australia is defined largely by coastal Mediterranean woodlands, and to the north is a large expanse of tropical savannas. To the east are temperate grasslands and coastal forests that extend down to Tasmania. The New Zealand subrealm contains both forests and grasslands and includes adjoining small islands to the east and the west. The Australasian Islands subrealm includes Papua, Sulawesi, and other Indonesian islands east of the Makassar Strait and south of the Java Sea, as well as the Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, and New Caledonia. With its seven seas and immense coral reefs, Australasia is one of the most important realms for ocean biodiversity. The Great Barrier Reef, considered one of the Seven Natural Wonders, is the world’s largest coral reef system, composed of over 2,900 individual reefs and 900 islands stretching for more than 2,300 kilometers.